Some of the world’s best bodybuilders are gathering in Columbus.

Written by

The 2023 Arnold Classic (AC) will take place this weekend in Columbus, OH, and it looks like quite the show is in store. With a lucrative $300,000 prize for the Men’s Open division winner, the battle for the headline event figures to be quite a doozy across the board.

On Mar. 2-5, 2023, fans can start centering their energy on one of the biggest shows in bodybuilding. Here’s a look at the Men’s Open roster for the 2023 AC:

2023 Arnold Classic | Men’s Open Roster

With reigning AC champion Brandon Curry sitting out this year’s iteration, 2021 winner Nick Walker figures to be the favorite in the eyes of many fans and experts. Walker is coming off a third-place result in the 2022 Mr. Olympia and will be returning to the AC as an apparent means of redemption during this competitive season. The athlete has tabbed 2022 Olympia runner-up and former 212 Olympia champion (2021) Derek Lunsford as one of his main rivals. Four-time Mr. Olympia champion (2006-2007, 2009-2010) Jay Cutler has picked Walker as the No. 1 contender. Seven-time 212 Olympia champion (2012-2018) Flex Lewis also expects Walker to take the title.

As for who could potentially beat Walker, there is no shortage of worthy opponents. For one, there’s former two-time Mr. Olympia (2020-2021) Mamdouh “Big Ramy” Elssbiay, who is returning to the competition after a two-year absence. Meanwhile, two-time AC winner (2018, 2020) William Bonac aims to become the fifth bodybuilder to achieve three AC titles. A dark horse competitor could be Chinedu Andrew Obiekea, aka “Andrew Jacked,” who burst onto the scene as an International Federation of Bodybuilding and Fitness (IFBB) Pro League rookie in 2022 with wins in the Texas Pro and Arnold Classic UK.

Five other bodybuilding divisions will be featured at the 2023 AC: Fitness, Classic Physique, Wellness, Men’s Physique, and Bikini.

Here are their respective rosters:


  • Ariel Khadr (2022 champion)
  • Jaclyn Baker
  • Tiffany Chandler
  • Oksana Grishina
  • Allison Kramer
  • Michelle Fredua-Mensah
  • Minna Pajulahti
  • Terra Plum
  • Kristin Pope
  • Tamara Vahn

Classic Physique

  • Jason Brown
  • Alex Cambronero
  • Neil Currey
  • Urs Kalecinski
  • Kyrylo Khudaiev
  • Mehdi Larijani
  • Courage Opara
  • Ramon Rocha Queiroz
  • Mike Sommerfeld


  • Isabelle Nunes (2022 champion)
  • Marissa Andrews
  • Sunny Andrews
  • Yarishna Ayala
  • Angela Borges
  • Julia Chitarra
  • Rayane Fogel
  • Kassandra Gillis
  • Andrea Hrenko
  • Giselle Machado 

Men’s Physique

  • Erin Banks (2022 champion)
  • Ali Bilal
  • Vitor Chaves
  • Carlos DeOliveira
  • Juan Manuel Gomez
  • Emmanuel Hunter
  • Youcef Djoudi
  • Diogo Montenegro
  • Jahvair Mullings
  • Edvan Ferriera Palmeira
  • Antoine Weatherspoon


  • Lauralie Chapados (2022 champion)
  • Romina Basualdo
  • Maureen Blanquisco 
  • Jennifer Dorie
  • Ivanna Escandar
  • Eli Fernandez
  • Alessia Fachin
  • Phoebe Hagan
  • Ashley Kaltwasser
  • Ukachi Onyejiaka
  • India Paulino

The 2023 AC is one of the biggest competitions in fitness, let alone bodybuilding. Walker and Co. will be expected to put on a show for a spectating crowd and those watching on pay-per-view. Based on precedent, it seems like these superstars will deliver.

Featured image: @nick_walker39 on Instagram

About Robert Zeglinski

Robert is a seasoned and adept editor and writer with a keen, passionate penchant for the writing craft. He’s been a leader in newsrooms such as SB Nation, USA TODAY, and WBBM Newsradio, with various other content and art production teams, and first made a name for himself in his hometown of Chicago. When not knee-deep in research or lost in a stream of consciousness for a thorough piece, you can find Robert inhaling yet another novel, journaling his heart out, or playing with his Shiba Inu, Maximus (Max, for short).

View All Articles